Welcome to the Arizona Yacht Club!

Bruce Andress.

Commodore Bruce Andress.

Your first reaction, even if you live in Arizona, might be, “Wait, what? Arizona Yacht Club? Where do you sail?” Let’s start there.

We sail at two venues. Dinghies race at Tempe Town Lake, an urban oasis central to Phoenix and a relatively short drive from Tucson. Bigger boats race at Lake Pleasant, a five-mile long gem bordered by the Bradshaw Mountains and saguaro-studded hills northwest of Phoenix. No boat? No problem. Crewing is a great way to get time and experience on the water.

When we’re not sailing, there are monthly meetings: a great opportunity to meet other members, make new friends, and connect with other skippers and crew. The meetings also feature speakers from the highest levels of sailing. Past speakers have included Dave Perry, Peter Isler, Annie Gardner, Sharon Green, Stephanie Roble, Tom Ehman, Bill Hardesty and Tom Leweck.

AYC is a 100% volunteer club, which means it’s all about members. There are 220 member families who live across the state. The members who get the best return on the modest membership fee are the ones who participate. They race, attend, volunteer.

Check out our racing program, US Sailing-certified education opportunities, monthly meetings, cruising, and social events that fill our active calendar. AYC is sailing in Arizona.

It is an honor and a privilege to be Commodore of Arizona Yacht Club. I hope you will help me make this an outstanding year.

Bruce Andress Signature

Bruce Andress

Club Stuff
How AYC Works – A description of the structure and operation of the club
How Tempe Town Lake Works
New Guy’s Guide to AYC
A Video History: Seven Guys Remember
Commodores: List of all AYC Commodores
Club Trophies and Awards
Bylaws as revised 2015
2015 Tax Return
Official Logos
Calendar of Events

Contacts and Officers

Arizona Yacht Club
P.O. Box 2728
Tempe, AZ 85280

  Position Name
  Commodore Bruce Andress
Vice Commodore Victor Felice
  Rear Commodore Jason Donkersley
  Racing Fleet Captain John Riddell
  Cruising Fleet Captain Tom Errickson
  Junior Staff Commodore &
Leukemia Cup Regatta Chairman
Chris Smith
  Senior Staff Commodore
Peter Lehrach
Membership Bob Whyte
  Membership Mark Howell
  Treasurer Tony Chapman
  Secretary Marshall Williamson
Webmaster Mike Ferring