Archive | May, 2015

Slide Show: Volvo Ocean Race Blitzes Newport

Mike and Maryellen Ferring flew to Newport, RI, to see the Volvo Ocean Racers’ only U.S. stop on their chase around the world. Here are pictures that Mike took over the course of three days.

June Meeting: Champion Racer Bill Hardesty

Bill-Hardesty-mugCan you handle another great meeting speaker? How about 2011 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Bill Hardesty?

Bill has won ten world championships: As tactician for two world championships in the Melges 24, one in the Farr 40, one in the Melges 20, three World Match Race Tour overall wins, and as helmsman for three Etchells world championships. Oh, and he finished a lousy second in last year’s J/70 Worlds. In other words, the guy can sail.

The meeting is Tuesday, June 9, beginning at 7pm (but arrive early for dinner). Monthly meetings are held at the Caddy Shack @ Rolling Hills Golf Course, 1415 North Mill Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281-1205 (map) and both members and non-members are welcome to attend.

From Bill’s online bio: Bill was born in Iowa and moved to San Diego at age three, where he lives today. He first stepped on a sailboat at age five, sailing catamarans with his father. He joined Mission Bay Yacht Club and sailed sabots in their junior program. He was successful even at a young age, winning two Sabot Nationals, three Youth Championships, and the High School Doublehanded Nationals.

Bill then went on to sail in college at the United States Merchant Marine Academy in New York. During his college career he received five All-American Skipper awards, won three National Championships and was College Sailor of the Year in 1998. He majored in marine engineering. After college he briefly campaigned the Laser but then took a break from sailing to work for a power plant in LA and then a manufacturing company in San Diego.

Here’s his very nice website with a little more information and some pictures.

Bill Hardesty (on the boat on the left) goes surfing. Photo: Sara Proctor

Bill Hardesty (on the boat on the left) goes surfing. Photo: Sara Proctor

Great Ride for the Commodore’s Celebration

Commodore's Celebration 2015-37

Dennis Davis cradles Ye Blunder Bucket and hefts the ASF Heavy Lifting Award, a double winner at the 2015 Commodore’s Celebration. Photos: Mike Ferring

The weather was perfect, the crowd raucous, the prizes many for the 2015 Commodore’s Celebration aboard the tour boat Phoenix on Lake Pleasant.

Dennis Davis, daughter Ema, and son Wilson were big winners for the night: all the Davises for the ASF “Heavy Lifting” award for contributions to the foundation and (on a very close vote) Dennis for the prized Ye Olde Blunder Bucket. Dennis edged out Paul Liszewski for the Bucket, charged with not sailing his Santana 20 even though it’s been in his driveway for a year and a half. (Paul came up short for turtling a 14.2 in light air at the club championship races.)

Emily Nowak was awarded the Wayne Jason Tucker award for most-improved junior; Sean, Bailey, and Claria Kohnen the Jerry Linderman Award for Most Improved Junior.

Dave Christensen received the Sportsmanship Award as an AYC “MVP” for his work keeping the scores for hundreds of races every year and for his many other contributions, from repairing boats to serving as race PRO.

And Dave and Stacey Haggart received the big punch bowl as the 2015 Club Champions. New to the club, the two dominated both the 14.2 fleet and the club championship this year.

Chris Smith officially took office as AYC Commodore, urging members to take people sailing in order to build excitement for the sport and to build membership.

Some 88 people shared the night, beginning with a tailgate party in the parking lot hosted by Sloop Dogg’s Chris Smith, moving onto the Phoenix for dinner and a cruise around the lake, watching the sunset under partly cloudy sky and very comfortable temperature.

Here are pictures taken by Mike Ferring.



AYC Elects Chris Smith Commodore

Members of AYC have elected the slate of candidates proposed for the AYC Board of Directors, headed by Chris Smith.

Here’s the entire slate:

  • Commodore: Chris Smith
  • Vice Commodore: Bruce Andress
  • Rear Commodore: Victor Felice
  • Junior Staff Commodore: Peter Lehrach
  • Racing Fleet Captain: Steve Brown
  • Cruising Captain: Tom Errickson
  • Membership: Bob Whyte

In addition, Cynthia Pillote moves to Senior Staff Commodore and John Riddell continues in the second year of a two-year term as membership chairman. At its first meeting the new board elected its final two members, Secretary Lori Reger and Treasurer Tony Chapman.

The membership also voted to make a small change in the club bylaws that would affect new members’ dues. Effective immediately, in addition to the initiation fee, new members will pay dues prorated for the time remaining in the AYC year.

Chris Smith

Commodore Chris Smith

Haggarts Dominate 2015 Championship Race

Dave and Stacey Haggart clobbered AYC’s other fleet champs. Annihilated them. Stomped ’em. Humbled ’em. Sound like an exaggeration? Consider this: Five races, five firsts. At that point Martin Lorch waved the white flag even though he still had a mathematical chance to win. Game over.

It was only in the first race that Haggarts were challenged, working their way through the fleet and solidifying first place with a perfect tack on Skip Kempff, drenching him with bad air.

The 2015 AYC Club Championship Regatta was played out at Tempe Town Lake in Capri 14.2s, starting with light wind and ending with a brisk breeze. On the water were sailors with a combined 15 championships—Skip Kempff, 7; Martin Lorch, 6; Mike Hester (crewing for Will Zornik), 2. And spectating, 10-time champ Don Hubele. Champs, make room for Dave Haggart.

Here are the scores.

Skipper R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Total
Dave Haggart 1 1 1 1 1 5
Martin Lorch 4 4 3 2 2 15
Skip Kempff 2 2 6 4 3 17
Will Zornik 5 3 2 5 4 19
Matt Davis 3 5 5 3 6 22
Mike Baros 6 6 4 6 5 27
Paul Liszewski 7 7 7 7 DNS (8) 36

Steve Brown was the event organizer; Mike Ferring the PRO. Other committee members were John Mayall, Kathleen Roxlo, and Jordan Brown. A number of others helped out with boat exchanges.

Members of the 14.2 fleet who loaned their boats for the regatta were Ferrings, Haggarts, Bill Hutchinson, Martin Lorch, John Mayall, and George Tingom. ASF also loaned a boat.

Dave and Stacey Haggart demonstrate their dominance, leading the mob home. Photos: Mike Ferring

Dave and Stacey Haggart demonstrate their dominance, leading the mob home. Photos: Mike Ferring

The wind came up nicely in the afternoon, pushing competitors to full-hike.

The wind came up nicely in the afternoon, pushing competitors to full-hike.

Paul Liszewski flips Ferrings' boat at the windward mark. (Click for bigger size)

Paul Liszewski flips Ferrings’ boat at the windward mark. (Click for bigger size)

Competitors took a midday break for lunch.

Competitors took a midday break for lunch.

A young Mr. Riddell thinks there's nothing quite like some watermelon with your sailboat race.

Tate Riddell thinks there’s nothing quite like some watermelon with your sailboat race.