Commodore’s Corner – February 2012

Congratulations to AYC and Leukemia Lymphoma Society for another fabulous Birthday and Leukemia Cup Regatta. We’re on our way into another great year of sailing “Desert Style”!

TTL has already kicked off the Spring Season with racing on 1/22, 1/29 and 2/5, and SCYA Mid-Winters will be combined with LP opening weekend 2/18-19 and with TTL dates in February so there will be lots of reasons to GET YOUR BUTT (ooops) BOAT in gear and join your sailing friends on the water.

What’s next???  BOARD OF DIRECTOR ELECTIONS!  FLEET CAPTAINS….time to get nominating! The Nominating Committee Meeting will be held 3/13/2012 immediately prior to the March AYC General Membership meeting.

February 2012 Calendar of Events

  • Sunday, February 5,
    • 2:00pm TTL Race Day 3 – All day Super Bowl Sunday
  • Tuesday, February 7,
    • 4:00pm High School Sailing Program
    • 6:30pm AYC Board Meeting
  • Saturday, February 11,
    • 9:30am ASF Start Sailing Right Day 1
    • 1:00pm ASF Sailing Skills Development Day 1
  • Sunday, February 12,
    • All day Lincoln’s Birthday
    • 2:00pm TTL Race Day 4
  • Tuesday, February 14,
    • All day Valentine’s Day
    • 4:00pm High School Sailing Program
    • 7:00pm AYC General Membership Meeting
  • Saturday, February 18,
    • 12:30pm LP Race Day 1
    • 12:30pm  SCYA Midwinter Regatta
  • Sunday, February 19
    • 9:00am LP Race Day 2
    • 9:00am  SCYA Midwinter Regatta
  • Monday, February 20
    • All day  President’s Day
  • Tuesday, February 21
    • 4:00pm  High School Sailing Program
  • Saturday, February 25
    • 9:30am  ASF Start Sailing Right Day 2
    • 1:00pm  ASF Sailing Skills Development Day 2
  • Sunday, February 26
    • 2:00pm  TTL Race Day 5
  • Tuesday, February 28
    • 4:00pm  High School Sailing Program

Let’s go sailing!!!

Emory Heisler
AYC Commodore