Ruth Beals Message From Our Fleet Captain

It was wonderful to see everyone on the water this year for the Ruth Beals Cup Regatta. What a blessing it was to be able to get out and participate in something we all enjoy.

I want to thank all of the women that showed up for this great event. I also want to thank Skip Kempff, Bob Naylor, Lori Reger, Tom Fuge, and Gene and Paige Peterson for serving on the race committee – we couldn’t have done it without all of you!

Ashleigh Baros on Hot Flash, a Santana20, was our youngest helmswoman racing that day. She put on an excellent performance, giving some great sailors and fast boats a run for their money. Dawna Uchtmann took 2nd place on Escapade, a Holder20. Dawna is a new AYC member – what a way to make an entrance! Last year’s champion, Brooke Miller, got off to a rough start trailing the pack for half of the race, but she managed to make her way back to take 3rd on her Santana20. Maryellen Ferring, a two-time champion, took line honors on her J70, Melissa Kay.

The winner of the 2020 Ruth Beals Cup Regatta is Alexia Lorch on Watercolors! She drove that Santana20 like she stole it, winning by five minutes with a corrected time. Way to go Alexia!

Please join our Zoom meeting on November 10th, where the trophy gets passed on to our new 2020 Champion. Until then, see you on the water!

Jeff Coulter, Fleet Captain