Notice of Election for the 2021-2022 Board of Directors

Electronic ballots will be emailed to all eligible voting members of the Arizona Yacht Club on record as of April 1, 2021. The email will include a link that takes you directly to the ballot and voting will likely take less than one minute. Only one ballot per membership is allowed. If you need to vote in person, contact Marc Danner.

You’ll receive your ballot when the voting opens on Monday, April 12 at 6:00 am. Polls close on Thursday, May 6 at 6:00 pm. Since we will not be hosting this year’s Commodore Celebration in person, the new board will be introduced at the Zoom monthly membership meeting on Tuesday, May 11.

When you get the opportunity, please extend some appreciation for the members that served as your 2020-2021 Board of Directors: Marc Danner, Commodore; Deb Heisler, Vice Commodore; Bob Naylor, Rear Commodore; Jeff Coulter, Fleet Captain; Sharon Bell, Cruising Captain; Dave Henning and Skip Kempff, Membership Directors; Rob Gibbs, Jr. Staff Commodore; Bill Hutchinson, Sr. Staff Commodore; Tony Chapman, Treasurer; Jeff Bryant, Secretary.

The Board is sorry to announce that Marc has declined the automatic nomination to Jr. Staff Commodore. We appreciate the time he has given our club the past three years as Commodore and as two-term Vice Commodore. Each of us wish him all the best as he focuses on expanding his career options and pursuing his doctorate. Cindy Pillote has graciously accepted the nomination to serve another time around as Staff Commodore. Thanks Cindy!

Marc extends his appreciation to the following members who served as the Nominating Committee:
Matt Baker, Debbie Huntsman, Paul Liszewski, David Newland, Dan Schott, George Sheller, Lori Reger, Ron Simzyk, Greg Woodcock, Bob Worrall, and Will Zornik.
The 2021-2022 nominees that survived the vetting process and made it to the ballot are:
– Commodore: Deb Heisler
– Vice Commodore: Bob Naylor
– Rear Commodore: Marshall Williamson
– Fleet Captain: Jeff Coulter
– Cruising Fleet Captain: Jeff Bryant
– Jr Membership Director: Gordon Briner
– Jr Staff Commodore: Cindy Pillote
Click here to read a brief bio on each of this year’s nominees.

Rob Gibbs continues into his two-year term and puts on the hat of Sr. Staff Commodore. Skip Kempff, our Membership Director will also stay to fulfill the second year of his term. Two more member volunteers that are scheduled to be nominated and elected by the board are:
– Treasurer, Tony Chapman
– Secretary, Lori Reger

A world of thanks to each of these volunteers for offering their time and talent to this club and its members.

Several amendments to the AYC Bylaws were considered and approved by the board and will be published separately. The proposed changes will appear on the ballot, along with the nominees, for your vote.