Club Awards and Honors

2022 Club Champion Jen Lee with crew Joel Hurley

AYC Awards and Honors

AYC Volunteer Service Award – Recognizes a member volunteer for their efforts and commitment to our club.
Club Racing Champion —The winner of the club’s annual regatta of fleet champions.
AYC Sportsmanship Award – Recognizes a member for their good sportsmanship in sailboat racing.
Junior Champion —The junior fleet champ.
Ruth Beals Cup – Women at the helm .
Ye Blunder Bucket —A fun, spoof award given twice a year for a worthy blunder.


In addition, AYC honors members for a lifetime of significant contributions to the club. The Distinguished Life Members* are:

David and Hermine Shapiro (deceased)
Joyce Seale
Tom (deceased) and Carol Ohlin
Frank (deceased) and Marylou Bigelow
Al and Sandy Lehman
Mike Yarnell and Tia Renshaw
George Tingom
Mike and Maryellen Ferring
Martin Lorch
Skip Kempff

*Previously named Honorary Life Members.

Sunfish Fleet 749 Captain Bob Naylor

AYC Member Bob Naylor was selected by US Sailing for their 2021 One Design Leadership Award. This award recognizes individual initiative, enthusiasm, organizing ability, and leadership in creating an outstanding fleet-building program. Here is what Bob had to say about the award: 

“I’m still quite embarrassed with the attention from it, but I’m nonetheless honored and humbled to have been selected to receive U.S. Sailing’s One Design Leadership Award. I’m grateful to Vicki Palmer (International Sunfish Class Association & AYC) for nominating me and to AYC for encouraging the development of our Sunfish Fleet.  And most of all, I’m very grateful to all of YOU for making it happen – for turning out and sailing, week in and week out. We all know that sailing in Arizona is TOUGH – some of you drive very long distances to race with us, you risk heat exhaustion and other hazards, and you still make it happen. So, in all sincerity, THANK YOU.”

Bob on his Sunfish at the 2022 Birthday Regatta. Photo: Joanne Aspinall


ASF Heavy Lifting Award —The annual thank you to an individual who does most to help ASF
Linderman Most Improved Junior Trophy —Given each year in honor of longtime AYC member Jerry Linderman.
Wayne Jason Tucker Outstanding Junior Award —Given each year in honor of junior sailor Wayne Jason Tucker. The Junior Sailor must be under the age of 16 years and must be a member of the Arizona Yacht Club.


Cruising Champion
Rahr Trophy (AYC MDR-SD Winner)
Tall Cactus Bean Pot
US Sailing Sportsmanship Award —This award was given annually to a person who’s given huge time and effort for AYC. It predominately recognized volunteer service. For many years AYC would submit the local recipient’s name as a nominee for the US Sailing W. Van Alan Clark, Jr. National Sportsmanship Award.