Voting Open for the 2020-2021 Board of Directors

If you were a voting-eligible member of the Arizona Yacht Club as of April 1, you’ve received an email allowing you to participate in the election of the next board of directors. Clicking on the link will automatically log you in to the ballot and voting takes only a minute or so.

Commodore Candidate Marc Danner

Members may vote until Monday, May 11 at 6 pm, when electronic voting closes. Ballots will be counted at 6 pm Tuesday, May 12, online. If you want to vote “in person,” as permitted in the bylaws but scrambled by COVID-19, please contact Mike Ferring.

The nominating committee unanimously selected this bunch for the ballot: Marc Danner, Commodore; Deb Heisler Vice Commodore; Bob Naylor, Rear Commodore; Jeff Coulter, Racing Fleet Captain; Sharon Bell, Cruising Fleet Captain; Skip Kempff, Membership Director (two-year term); Rob Gibbs, Jr Staff Commodore. Members may also write in candidates’ names.

Bill Hutchinson moves to Sr Staff Commodore and Dave Henning will continue in the second year of his two-year term as Membership Director. The new board will elect a Secretary and Treasurer.

Marc Danner is our current Vice Commodore and his professional experience as a high school principal is excellent preparation for herding the board of directors. Marc is an active racer, competing both at Tempe Town Lake on a Laser and at Lake Pleasant on a Santana 20, where he usually turns the tiller over to his 12-year old son Myles. Myles is quite the story himself. He started sailing in ASF Optis, went to the O’pen Bic and currently competes with the Juniors in a Laser. (Myles also enjoys the distinction of being the youngest person ever to win the AYC Blunder Bucket.)